Press Releases
PM Presents Awards to 2009 Winners
Mar 10, 2010
Source: Anugerah CSR Malaysia website

Companies that have been investing in community development received the highest possible accolades for their commitment, time and efforts. They were presented with the Anugerah CSR Perdana Menteri by Prime Minister YAB Dato’ Sri Mohd Najib bin Tun Haji Abdul Razak at a ceremony held at the Hilton Kuala Lumpur on March 08, 2010.

In a ballroom packed with more than 400 CEOs, managing directors and other leaders of corporate Malaysia, the newly appointed President and CEO of PETRONAS Datuk Shamsul Azhar Abbas received the prestigious Anugerah CSR Perdana Menteri - for overall best CSR in the country - after also winning in the categories of Culture and Heritage; and Education.

A total of 70 companies had sent in entries for the Anugerah CSR Perdana Menteri 2009, involving close to 150 different projects. The Education category received the most entries, followed by Social Welfare, Environment, Workplace Practices, Small Company CSR, Empowerment of Women, Media Coverage and Culture & Heritage.

In his speech, Dato’ Sri Najib noted a fundamental change occurring that is making responsible corporate behaviour an absolute must for every company. “Corporations, GLCs and bona fide NGOs that are in the forefront of CSR activities should join hands for greater impact, long lasting and maximum results from their efforts. For example, staff from the GLCs could join NGOs in their relief work and this investment of time on their part can be counted for promotion, increment, and bonus,” he said.

The Prime Minister went so far as to suggest that “time spent on CSR can be part of the individual staff’s KPI and institutionalised by the Human Resource Departments in assessing their performance.”

Launched in 2007 by the Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development, the Anugerah CSR Perdana Menteri recognises initiatives directed in seven main areas of: Community & Social Welfare, Culture & Heritage, Education, the Empowerment of Women, Environment, Small Company CSR, and Best Workplace Practices. In addition, there is a special category for Media Reporting.

In her Welcome Address, Minister Dato’ Sri Shahrizat Abdul Jalil said it was heartening to note that the number of submissions for the 2009 awards was nearly as high as it had been in 2007, despite the global economic meltdown.

“I believe this is because dynamic Malaysian companies, represented by so many here today, have regarded doing well in terms of profits, and doing good in terms of caring for the community as not mutually exclusive objectives but mutually reinforcing ones.”

She added: “All of you have gone beyond lip service and cheque book philanthropy. When doing well and doing good starts complementing each other it becomes a strategy for sustained development.”

Judging of the Awards was carried out by a 10-member panel headed by Tan Sri Faizah Mohd Tahir, former Secretary-General of the Ministry of Women, Family and Community Development. The judges represent governmental, non-governmental and corporate bodies that have very good ground-level knowledge of Malaysian communities in need of attention so as to be brought to a level playing field with mainstream society.

In assessing the submissions, they were driven primarily by three factors:
• The positive impact the CSR initiative has on the communities at which it is targeted;
• The sustainability of the project; and
• The level of commitment and involvement displayed by the companies in these projects.

Winners and Honorary Mentions of the Eight Categories


Winner                        : Petronas Berhad
Honorary Mentions     : Intel Technology Sdn Bhd; Maxis Communications Bhd


Winner                        : Intel Technology
Honorary Mentions     : Shangri-la Hotel, Kuala Lumpur; B Braun Medical Industries Sdn Bhd


Winner                        : Petronas Berhad
Honorary Mentions     : Warisan Global Sdn Bhd; Malaysian Resources Corporation Berhad


Winner                        : CIMB Group
Honorary Mentions     : Mulpha Internation Bhd and KPJ Healthcare Bhd


Winner                        : Telekom Malaysia Bhd
Honorary Mentions     : CIMB Group; Intel Technology Sdn Bhd


Winner                       : The Truly Loving Company Sdn Bhd
Honorary Mentions     : Sendi Mutiara Multimedia Sdn Bhd; MM Vitaoils Sdn Bhd


Winner                         : Rampai-Niaga Sdn Bhd (The Body Shop)
Honorary Mentions   : Sime Darby Berhad; Hai-O Marketing Sdn Bhd


Winner                        : Media Prima Bhd
Honorary Mentions     : Star Publications (Malaysia) Berhad; Epitome Communications Sdn Bhd